36 reviews

(5)

Kaitlyn L.

5October 2022

This review is technically for "Sweet Pea" as "Pokey" was not available at the time of my trip, but I can speak to renting with Brian. Brian was super easy to communicate with, made sure to explain everything thoroughly and be sure you feel comfortable driving before you take off, and was very responsive to any questions. The van was in excellent condition and very clean, and you can tell that the vans are taken care of very well. My husband and I had an excellent time and will remember renting an old school VW Van forever! You will not regret booking with Brian!


Deborah L.

4September 2022

Brian was great. Met us in parking lot to let us get a chance to drive SweetPea a few blocks. We are not campers, and were taking the van to a music festival, so we had access to showers and port-o-potties, food and drink. The inside is built out with storage for most items. There is a cooler for ice, propane stove, "shower bag", coffee pot, pan, disposable utensils, folding chairs, mat. A new awning which attaches to rim of long side of van was great for shade. There is room for 2 adults - 1 up, one down. Thin foam mats (a bit hard on older hips and back) nice pillows and comfortors. You have to crawl up to upper sleep area. Not for older folks.
Driving: I drive a manual 6 speed sports car, and SweetPea was a challenge. Transmission needs a bit of work. Most folks are in a hurry, and SweetPea is not, so tolerating some honking from behind is important. Turns like an ocean liner, no power steering, so don't even think about parallel parking.
She is a conversation piece. Everyone wanted to stop and take a peek. Many had driven one as a 20-something in the 70s. Served its purpose for a few nights with great weather.

3 Photos submitted by Deborah L.


Melina M.

0September 2022

Camp Old School canceled the booking 1 day before departure. This is an automated posting.


Brett D.

5September 2022

The owner was a pleasure to work with, a top notch communicator who responded quickly to messages when I had any questions. I had a great time on my trip and we got so many compliments on the camper!


Rui C.

5August 2022

Sweet Pea was a great time! Brian was very helpful! Excellent trip.


Neal S.

5August 2022

The vehicle (and it’s owner) absolutely MADE this trip! What an epic “experience”. Thank you!


Cynthia M.

5June 2022

The hype is true. Brian goes above and beyond to ensure an enjoyable ride. He didn't mind my questions and gave all the necessary details I needed, so no surprises. Sweet Pea came fully equipped with clean, cozy bedding and camping necessities. I'm so glad I spent 4 days in this vanagan exploring Cape Cod and Narragansett, and I hope to do so again.


Matthew L.

5June 2022

What an incredible experience I had with my daughter. Brian was so easy to deal with and gave us a walkthrough of all of this old van's features and quirks before setting out to Cape Cod for the long weekend. Don't rent this expecting it to be a polished driving experience -- it definitely was better on the side-roads than when we took it on the highway for a bit.

2 Photos submitted by Matthew L.


Tim H.

5May 2022

We had a great time with the 1972 Volkswagen! Everything was well prepared so we could start right away.


Courtney M.

5November 2021

Had a wonderful experience with Brian and his "Sweet Pea". Beautiful bus with so much charm. Communication with Brian was always timely and easy to work with overall! Would absolutely recommend

1 Photo submitted by Courtney M.


Rachel R.

5August 2021

We had an awesome time! My wife and I picked up in RI and drove through MA. We already have our own VW at home to restore, but wanted to try adventuring in this beautiful bus. Brian was really helpful with check-in and making sure we understood his driving system. Even when we bumped a light pole he was very understanding and helped make it a great trip! The bus amenities were exactly what we needed- plenty of room for our stuff, good camping chairs, lots of lanterns, and a few fire starters. We loved it!

3 Photos submitted by Rachel R.


Stephen P.

5August 2021

Sweet Pea is a dream come true! It was so fun to take her on our family camping trip.

2 Photos submitted by Stephen P.


Chris B.

5July 2021

Brian was so accommodating to all of our questions and needs. He worked around our schedule for pick up and drop off and was attentive to all of our questions. Thank you for an excellent experience.