Located in the city of Rome, in New York State, visitors can discover the historical significance of Fort Stanwix and the Oneida Carry and tour the reconstruction of the original fort at Fort Stanwix National Monument.
Fort Stanwix was an important installation built in 1758 to protect the Oneida Carry, a six-mile portage, used by those traveling by water from the Atlantic Ocean to the Great Lakes. Originally constructed by the British, it was abandoned in 1774 and taken over by the Americans. In 1777, the fort came under siege during the Revolutionary War, and withstood a 21 day siege, contributing to the American victory over the British at Saratoga later that same year. The fort later fell into disrepair, was abandoned, and subsequently developed over. Excavation of the original fort site began in 1960 and in 1976 the Fort Stanwix National Monument was opened to the public, with a replica of the original fort built on the original site.
A visitor center at the moment provides historical information and displays, brochures, tours, and accessible restrooms. The monument is set up to provide self-guided tours and many events and guided programs are scheduled throughout the year. Photography is permitted in the park and visitor center, except during audio visual presentations in the visitor center.